Ford Hall Forum Today

Ford Forum on mental health and sports.

The Ford Hall Forum, which officially joined Suffolk University in 2014, continues its tradition of providing an unbiased, neutral  space for the public to debate vital issues. Although much stays the same, the forum increasingly uses technology to connect with audiences in the internet age. 

The Forum, always free and open to all, holds interactive lectures throughout the year and honors individuals who promote and facilitate freedom with its annual First Amendment Award. A full list of award recipients is available on the Ford Hall Forum's site. Among the past recipients of the First Amendment Award are Maya Angelou, Rosa Parks, Pete Seeger, Anthony Lewis, Anita Hill, and James Downey.

Speakers in recent years have included Ashley Judd, Barney Frank, and Bill Murray. The topics have  ranged from legalization of marijuana to transgender rights.